Tags

, , , , , , , ,

My book review’s have decreased on the blog. I haven’t been reading as much as I used to, mostly because I can’t find a book that compares to Gone Girl. It’s really set the bar high and I can’t find another fiction book that sucks me in and then stays with me for so long. I’ve started a bunch of books, but just gave up because I had no interest in reading them, so no point suffering through them.

This was until I discovered Lean In by Sheryl Sandburg. Usually if I read a non fiction book, I listen to it in an audiobook version otherwise I can’t really get through them. But this one was so easy to read!

Sheryl Sandberg is the COO at Facebook, and she writes this book to address various female thoughts and behaviors in the workplace that all women experience, but don’t really talk about too often. This book was so easy to read because her style of writing is very casual, it’s almost like she’s chatting with you over coffee with examples using her personal experience or experiences of her friends or colleagues. Some of them are very funny (because they’re true), and some of them made me think “wow I never thought of it that way.” I found myself highlighting in my book and making notes on things I don’t want to forget.

Some of my favorite takeaways from this book are:

  • Skip the people pleasing. It’s not worth worrying about and focusing too much on it can really end up slowing you down.
  • Visualize your career as a jungle gym, instead of a ladder.
  • Stop focusing on finding a mentor just to have one. Mentors have to want to mentor you, and sometimes seek you out. Don’t ever force it. In the meantime peer mentors are just as valuable.
  • There’s no such thing as having it all. The only way to get close to achieving that is by having an equal partnership at home and sharing all responsibilities. This is the only way to balance both home and work life as equally as possible.
  • Don’t be afraid to ask to make your work-life balance more realistic. Sheryl had some great examples of how women just quit their jobs to stay at home by assuming it won’t work out, without working with their management to make it happen first.

There is also a great TIME article summing up her book. And if you enjoyed her book, you should check out her TED talks where she continues to address these topics. She’s a fantastic speaker, very likeable, and most importantly inspirational for females, regardless of what industry you work in.

Now please, someone help me find a next book to read that will help me get over my Gone Girl slump! Any recommendations??

