Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I’ve been making this dip every Christmas for the last 10 years! I can’t believe I haven’t put it on the blog yet.
christmas-wreath-dip

It was hard to pack all the flavors into one title for this recipe. Usually I call this my Christmas wreath dip. But you can make it all year round. Just maybe not in a wreath shape. This is also essentially a recipe for Trader Joe’s Tomato & Pesto Torta, if you are a fan of that.

wreathdip

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter (sometimes I leave this out, and it still comes out good)
  • 1 (8 ounce) container of feta cheese, crumbled
  • 1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese, softened
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3 tablespoons dry vermouth (optional)
  • ground pepper, to taste
  • 1/2 cup pine nuts, toasted
  • 1 cup chopped sun-dried tomatoes (drained from oil!)
  • 3/4 cup pesto sauce
DIRECTIONS:
1. In a food processor, combine the butter, feta cheese, cream cheese, garlic, vermouth, and white pepper. Process until smooth.

wreathdip-2

2. In a gelatin mold (or a bundt or Angel food cake pan for a Christmas wreath shape), and line with plastic wrap for easy removal.
wreathdip-3

3. Layer the dip into the mold as follows: Sun-dried tomatoes, pine nuts, pesto, cheese mixture. If it’s a small mold, then repeat.
wreathdip-4 wreathdip-5 wreathdip-6

4. Pat down into the mold, and refrigerate for at least one hour. This helps it stay together when flipped over.
wreathdip-7

5. Turn the dip out onto a serving plate (I use a pie pan for the wreath shape), and remove plastic wrap. Don’t worry, if it doesn’t fall perfectly, you can always use a spoon to move it around, and get it back into its circular shape. But I find that I only have problems with that if I don’t refrigerate for an hour.
wreathdip-8

4. Serve with crackers or crusty bread.

This is always a fun unique dish, to mix things up among the taco dips at a pot luck!

Merry Christmas!

