Tags

, , , ,

I’ve been curious to try Glossybox, but the $21/month price tag had me putting it off. When I got an email on Thanksgiving with 40% off for new subscribers I was all over it! Since I post about Birchbox all the time,  I thought I’d do a comparison this month for anyone that is trying to decide between the two.

Here is the box I got from Birchbox:
December-Birchbox

It had a great selection of items. My two favorites were a highlighter powder by theBalm, and a tinted moisturizer by juice beauty. I’ve gotten many tinted moisturizers in my past Birchboxes, but this one is by far my favorite. It makes my skin glow, it has the perfect amount of coverage (I don’t like foundation), and acts as a serious primer. My makeup didn’t budge all day long, that rarely happens since I tend to touch my face a lot. It is a contender for a full size purchase… And the $50 to Rent the Runway is kind of fun. Might have to take a look and see if I can find a New Years outfit on the site.
beautyboxes-Dec-2

Here is the box I got from Glossybox.December-Glossybox

The GOOD: the box was fancy! Very high quality, and the presentation was really nice. It also smelled really delicious.

There were more way products to try than a standard Birchbox, and they are pretty cool. I have said it before and I’ll say it again: I LOVE Zoya nailpolish! So I was super excited about that full sized item. I also like Oscar Blandi so the heat protectant spray will be great to try. And the “Pleats Please” by Issey Mikyake perfume is just heavenly, I’m actually really excited to wear it over Christmas. Let’s hope I don’t love it too much due to the $92 price tag… The Ecru New York protein oil is suppose to reduce blow drying time, so I’m curious about that item. The Forest Essential after shower oil is also a huge sample and it’s something I’ve never heard of before. It seals in moisture in skin after a shower but you put it on while still in the shower! I have loved this product, it keeps my winter skin moisturized all day without being greasy and it smells incredible! Heartland fragrance bath salts were the last item.

It was also cool that included Jewelmint jewelry! That was a nice touch. Although the rings barely fit my pinky finger, so maybe i’ll have to put them as charms on a necklace.
Glossybox-Jewelmint

Unlike Birchbox, Glossybox is also available in the following countries: Austria, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, Poland, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Taiwan, and the United Kingdom!
December-Glossybox2

The BAD: Well the regular cost of $21 is a major negative. It’s a lot of money to spend on unknown items. Their website is a major turn off for me. It’s hard to navigate. The login page wasn’t on the front page until this week! So I finally was able to set up an account today, after getting a box. Now I can’t figure out if i’m going to keep getting charged and how to cancel my orders. I think Birchbox makes it much easier navigate and control when to hit stop or go on your subscription. And so far Glossybox has not been good with communication. After I ordered my box, I never got an email confirming my purchase, and it took a month before I finally heard from them saying my box shipped. They are new in the US so maybe they are still setting this up and it will improve over time.

The final verdict? Glossybox was really fun to get, but I’m not 100% convinced that it’s worth $21 every single month for similar products (although I’ve seen past boxes that included Burberry lipstick, now that would be worth it). But I just love how easy Birchbox is and I have no doubt in my mind that it’s worth the $10, even if some months are better than others.

If you are interested in trying either one, feel free to use my referral links: Birchbox.

Have you tried Glossybox? I’m curious to hear about other experiences with it!

