Tags

, , , , , , ,

I’m not sure if it’s the change in seasons, or the stress I’ve been feeling when I’m choosing what to wear, but I suddenly got the urge to dump everything out of my closet and reorganize.

I wanted to remind myself what I have, try everything on, and decide what to keep and what to donate. I created 3 piles: clothes to give to my sister, clothes to sell online, and clothes to donate.


Before: ugly plastic hangers, high lumpy piles of clothing I can’t reach, and tons of clothing that doesn’t fit me anyways.


What I did:

    • I got ultra thin velvet hangers. They fit more clothing on a rod, and make it look neater and more organized.
    • I hung more items and now have shorter stacks of clothing on the overhead shelves so that I can reach everything and not have a huge pile tumble down whenever I grab something.
    • My clothing is arranged by category {Work suits, work shirts, work pants, skirts, blazers, cardigans, weekend shirts, tunics, dresses, etc.}.
    • My dresses are all on hot pink hangers. I think it gives it a more boutique-like and super girly feel.

    • I got rid of a lot of jeans that don’t fit me anymore, or were just uncomfortable to begin with but I didn’t know better (never again), and stacked them in order of how often I wear them. Shorts are at the top of the stack since it’s still pretty hot.

    • My precious shoe collection was dusted off and reorganized by category (flats, work shoes, summer shoes, fun heels).

    • Accessories like belts and scarves were finally hung up instead of being a huge jumbled mess on the top shelf.

    • And finally, my favorite of all, my jewelry was organized. My favorite every day and more valuable jewelry is in a jewelry box on my dresser. It was hard keeping it organized especially as big statement necklaces became a part of my collection and started taking up all the space in my jewelry box. I found this little black dress jewelry hanger on Amazon, and it’s perfect.

  • Hangs like a neat little black dress, clutter free.

A closet is escentially a display of a girl’s most prized collection. We spend a lot of time making sure we have the perfect mix and selection. So it’s important to be able to display it and have it organized in a way that allows us to make the most out of it.

If you’d like to do some more closet stalking Bluefly did a celebrity “closet confessions” series. You may remember that some of the clips used to be in Bluefly commercials on TV. I really enjoyed watching all of these and seeing how some fashionistas organize their collections.

Closet Confessions includes bloggers, like the Man Repeller

…to celebrities like Nikki Hilton, the hilarious Bethenny Frankel, and Guiliana Rancic.

What I love most about this series is that no matter who you are, and what kind of brands you own, every girly girl gets giddy like this in her closet.

How do you organize your closet? Any other tips for organizing shoes, jewelry, belts, etc?

