Tags

,

I just finished the most.addicting.book.ever.

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn is chick lit meets psychological thriller. It’s a story about marriage, relationships and revenge with a whole lot of crazy thrown in. It’s so twisted it constantly keeps you guessing, trying to figure out what will happen. In other words insanely good read.

It starts off a bit slow, but once you get to Part 2, the book takes a crazy twist and it makes you never want to put the book down. I would spend all day thinking about the book and counting the seconds until I could go see what happens (nerdy? or amazing? you choose).

My only complaint is the ending. It left so many unanswered questions. After the crazy psychological roller coaster ride I wanted more closure. Since the rest of the book was so eerie I can understand why the author ended it the way she did. As Nick phrases it at the end “hell, at this point, I can’t imagine my story without Amy. she is my forever antagonist. We are one long frightening climax.” Sooo horrifying, yet kind of brilliant.

I needed a book that was different and surprised me and this book delivered. So despite the odd ending, I loved the author’s style of writing and would definitely check out some of her other work.

Have you read Gone Girl? What are your thoughts on how it ended?

