Tags

, ,

I’ve been doing a lot of reading this summer. My reading goal for the year was 12 books and I have surpassed that by a lot. I swear I read faster on a Kindle…

50 Shades of Grey – This book was terrible! I wanted to like it because of all of the hype, but the writing was just so bad I could barely get through it! Christian Grey’s character is intriguing, but Anastasia was so annoying it ruined the book for me. Anastasia says the same things over and over and over, it was unoriginal and infuriating. I had to skip over a lot just to see how it ends and am so glad I didn’t waste any more time.

Fault in Our Stars – I found this book a little overrated. I’ve heard so much about it, I was expecting so much more. But with that said it was a very good book. It was written beautifully, which is not something I say very often about a book. On the surface it’s a book about teens with cancer. But it’s really about relationships and realistic views on mortality and life. Its sad, funny, sarcastic, touching. It’s given me a whole new perspective on cancer and people with cancer. There’s so much more in this book than cancer, it would make a great book club discussion book.

Baby Proof – This book had such potential with the topic, but it was poorly executed. It started off fun, but then turned infuriating for me. Claudia and Ben never communicated, they just got a divorce without ever talking about it. The whole time she’s thinking how she feels but never tells him, ever. Even when it’s obvious he’s having doubts, she’s thinking she loves him but never tells him. *minor spoiler alert* Even at the end when she arranges a meeting, he does the talking and she chickens out and never even tells him that that’s why she had wanted them to meet! She just sits there thinking “I desperately want to tell him that I would do anything for him” but she never tells him. This happened continuously with other characters in the book too, but her character just made me really angry and made me skip chapters.

Heart of the Matter – In my opinion, this is Emily Giffin’s best book. I was surprised at how much I loved this book after reading all of her other books and hating them for the predictable fluff that they were. This book had so much more soul, and reminded me of a Jodi Picoult novel. It portrayed many different emotions and perspectives on a variety of topics like accidents, loss, love, blame, family, complexity of relationships and cheating. The book is written from the perspectives of two women and I found myself jumping sides depending on whose chapter it was. The topics are heavy and difficult at times, but the overlying message of forgiveness is portrayed from so many different angles that it leaves you feeling uplifted and hopeful. Highly recommend!

Flat Out Love – I loved this book. It was unique and heart warming and I still find myself thinking about it weeks after finishing it. It’s hard to describe it though. It’s a coming of age story about a girl’s first year in college. Her first year housing falls through so she stays with friends of the family, who on the surface are a very dysfunctional family. The story explores her trying to figure out what their story is. They all end up helping each other out, and there is a subtle, yet sweet love story in the background. I would recommend this as light summer reading.

Do you have any other must read summer book recommendations?

