Tags

,

This weekend while lounging out in the sunshine, and accidentally getting a sunburn, I finally finished this book.

I highly recommend Still Missing by Chevy Stevens. It was so captivating, and extremely well written from a psychology perspective about a girl, Annie O’Sullivan, who was abducted by a “Freak” for a year. Each chapter is written in the form of a session with her therapist, so the reader knows she gets found. But what I loved the most was the voice it was written in. It gripped me from the first sentence, it was so real. Here is an exerpt of the first sentance:

You know, Doc, you’re not the first shrink I’ve seen since I got back. The one my family doctor recommended right after I came home was a real prize. The guy actually tried to act like he didn’t know who I was, but that was a pile of crap – you’d have to be deaf and blind not to. Hell, it seems like every time I turn around another asshole with a camera is jumping out of the bushes.

She recaps the disturbing details of the abduction and her survival, while providing insight to the post traumatic stress disorder she is going through with coming to terms with what happened and trying to figure out how to allow herself to re-enter into society. The writing is so raw and real her emotions are felt by the reader and you start feeling the same fear, hope, and anxiety as she does.

The first half of the book mostly covers the events of the abduction. It was painful to read, but at the same time I couldn’t stop, I was dying to know what happens. I enjoyed the second half of the book much more. It was less graphic and more suspenseful. Once she is back she tries figuring out why something like this would happen to her, and there are some very unexpected twists and turns when she finds out she may still be in danger.

Bottom line: It may not be a light read due to its subject but this book is spell bounding, shocking, touching, and suspenseful.

Overall review: ★ ★ ★★ (really liked it)

