Tags

, , , ,

This weekend I stocked up on veggies, and had a relaxing Sunday to prep for the week ahead.

Aldi is my favorite place to stock up on veggies without breaking the bank. I used to buy a lot of veggies and forget to use them and they would all go bad.

But now I’ve learned to chop everything up right away. I refrigerated what I would use for the week, and froze the rest in plastic baggies to use at a later time.

The idea for salads in a jar is inspired by a Pinterest pin from this blog.

A fun and easy way to transport a hearty salad in your lunch to work or school.

This is my healthy, light lunch today on an 88 degree Monday in April.


Layer 1: Salad Dressing

Layer 2: Anything hearty. carrots, cucumbers, beans, peppers, chick peas

Layer 3: Lighter items. broccoli, mushrooms, tomatoes, avocado, corn, onions, fruit

Layer 4: Nuts and cheeses. I added sunflower seeds, goat cheese and a bit of cheddar.

Layer 5: Protein. Meat, quinoa, or eggs.

Layer 6: Leafy Greens. Lettuce, spinach, kale.

I love this idea because the layers allow you to make 5 of these jars ahead of time on the weekend in preparation for the week without having the veggies get soggy! I just bring a big Tupperware container with me to work to dump it into to make it easier to eat. Yummy.

How do you use your weekends to prepare for the week ahead?

