Tags

, , , ,

I know that Hunger Games movie just came out this past weekend, and I have yet to see it (this week for sure!). But I’m here to talk about the next big trilogy because I just finished Divergent, by Veronica Roth.

If you are looking for a book to fill the Hunger Games void in your reading life, look no further, this is it.

Here is the short summary from Goodreads:

In a futuristic Chicago, 16-year-old Beatrice Prior must choose among five predetermined factions. They are: Abnegation (the selfless), Candor (the honest), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent) each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue. To define her identity for the rest of her life, a decision made more difficult when she discovers that she is an anomaly who does not fit into any one group, and that the order of the society she lives in is not perfect after all.

I tried not to compare Divergent too much to Hunger Games because Hunger Games is a masterpiece in and of itself. But some similarities were hard not to notice.

It is similar because: it is absurdly addicting, it is also dystopian, set in the future, instead of Districts it has Factions, it has a strong female character, there is war against the powers dividing society. That’s where similarities stop.

This book was written by a 23 year old Northwestern student! Talk about living the dream… considering the studio behind Twilight has already picked up the movie rights before the 2nd, and 3rd parts of the trilogy were written. Unfortunately the movie is not set to be released until 2015! But then again, that is good because Hunger Games definitely deserves its own spotlight.

This book was fantastic. I could not put it down. Unlike, Hunger Games, the female character is extremely likeable, and the romantic plot is equal to the action/thriller plot, so it gives it a great balance. I really can’t remember the last time I read a really good (and not typical, cheesy) romance, and this plot had me enthralled, rooting for the couple. It also had a little bit more depth, the different virtues of the factions also made you think about focusing on one more than the other, and the importance of that balance.

I’m still getting over my “book high” after finishing this book and can’t think of anything I didn’t love about it.

The countdown for the release of the 2nd installment is on! Insurgent comes out May 1, and I can’t wait!

Have you read Divergent yet?

