Tags

,

After reading the Girl with Dragon Tattoo I had decided that I would not continue with the series. But so many people told me that it gets better, so almost a year later I finally got around to it.

The Girl Who Played With Fire is the second book in Stieg Larsson’s Millenium series. On the eve of publication of a controversial expose on sex trafficking in Europe, two investigating reporters are murdered. The fingerprints found on the murder weapon belong to Lisbeth Salander—the troubled, wise-beyond-her-years genius hacker who came to reporter Blomkvist’s aid in The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, and who now becomes the focus and fierce heart of The Girl Who Played with Fire. As Blomkvist, alone in his belief in Salander’s innocence, plunges into an investigation of the slayings, Salander herself is drawn into a murderous hunt in which she is the prey, and which compels her to revisit her dark past in an effort to settle with it once and for all.

What I liked:

  • I liked this book much better than the first. This book wasn’t as dark as the first. It was by no means not dark either! But there was less of a focus on sex slave, and more on the mystery.
  • It’s a much faster read than the first one, which was so slow to get into.
  • This story line is so intricate, with so many curve balls that surprised me, that it kept me going.
  • It’s amazing that as dark and damaged of a character that Lisbeth Salander is, you just can’t stop siding with her throughout the story, no matter how absurdly violent she may be. She’s such an interesting character, you can’t help it.
  • You finally found out what “all the evil” is! The constant mention of this bothered me in the first book because I wanted to know.
  • It makes me want to go to Sweden.

What I didn’t like:

  • The style of writing is kind of difficult to get through. So many descriptions, so many foreign names, so many long paragraphs of back stories. It’s easy to zone out and skip over parts out of boredom. I solved this by listening to the audio book while at the gym. This way I’d zone in and out, and catch all the parts I wanted to hear. 😉
  • It seems like the whole first part of the book while she’s on the island is useless and played no significant part in the book. Except to show that she left Europe, is still violent and loves math. Was it necessary?

I heard that a lot of this story is just continued in the final book, so I’m ready to get started on that!

The Girl that Played with Fire Review: ★★★★ (really liked)

Have you read this book? What were your thoughts?

