Tags

, , , ,

To some this may be no big deal.

But to me roasting a chicken is my domestication equivalent of a Jewish bar mitzvah. A milestone of entering into adulthood. It means I passed level 1 and can now proceed to level 2.

I’m one step closer in my culinary journey to being able to say “Gimme a sec, I’ll whip something up.” {Not there yet… I need at least an hour and Google handy for looking up recipes for anything and everything I try to make.}

But I bought a real, full chicken. It’s no Thanksgiving turkey, but its a 4.5lb chicken!

I even overcame my fear of touching it. Look how scary it looks. It could have jumped up on those legs and attacked me at any moment…

It wasn’t easy, I was squirmy and had my eyes closed for 60% of the time I was touching it. But I did it.

I Google’d a million recipes, and finally used a combination of a few I read.

The steps were simple:

  1. Remove packaging.
  2. Remove gross packet of goodies inside the chicken.
  3. Pat the chicken dry.
  4. Season with salt, pepper, garlic, rosemary, and anything else you have on hand. Both outside and inside… I know, so gross.
  5. Pour olive oil over the chicken and massage the seasoning in.
  6. Place in a pan over some onions and garlic cloves.
  7. Place in the oven, set on 425 degrees, for 1 hour and 25 minutes. (Don’t cover it, as tempting as it may be)
  8. Remove a perfectly roasted chicken from the oven.

I don’t usually like chicken skin, but I could not get enough of this one.

If you have the time it is worth roasting at home instead of buying a rotisserie chicken. And cheaper. And healthier too since you control what goes in it.

Have you roasted a chicken? Any tips for a first time roaster like me?

