Tags

,

After loving Tina Fey’s Bossypants, I was looking forward to reading another funny woman’s book. Mindy Kaling’s “Why is everyone hanging out without me?” was a good follow up.

What I liked:

  • The book starts out really funny. Kaling has a great way with words and making hilarious observations.
  • She’s very relatable and instantly makes you feel like she’s your best friend. And spends a lot of time talking about the power of girl friends, which every girl loves to talk about and can relate.
  • She gives a fun insight to the Office, and how her career started because of her Ben Affleck impersonation and off-Broadway play based on it.
  • My favorite parts of the book were the introduction, her rules for best friends, her chapter on the Office, and her chapter on her idea of relationships. Here is an excerpt from the introduction:

Do you offer up a lot of opinions in this book? A little bit. I do lay in some opinions here and there. For example, I don’t think it should be socially acceptable for people to say they are “bad with names.” No one is bad with names. That is not a real thing. Not knowing people’s names isn’t a neurological condition; it’s a choice. You choose not to make learning people’s names a priority. It’s like saying, “Hey, a disclaimer about me: I’m rude.” For heaven’s sake, if you don’t know someone’s name, just pretend you do. Do that thing everyone else does, where you vaguely say, “Nice to see you!” and make weak eye contact.

What I didn’t like:

  • The title of the book sums it up. Her constant insecurities got to me. Although, she does it in a funny way, she puts herself down throughout the whole book. She criticizes her weight, her love life, and focuses on what she did wrong in her career. She breezes over the positives and mentions them in a mock-bragging way. The chapter about how she was a writer on SNL for a few weeks, made me cringe with embarrassment for her the whole time. It was cool of her to share that, but the way she did it made herself sound worse than she probably was.
  • Although I started the book loving her and laughing, by the end of the book, I was wondering why she wrote this book. The beginning is funny and you learn about her life, but the end starts sounding dragged out and sounds almost like a blog or diary of a 13 year old, with her random observations, insecurities, and almost trying to convince herself why she’s kind of famous.

Overall it was a fast, light read, and definitely kept me entertained despite some of my brief annoyances.

Overall rating: ★ ★ ★ (liked it) I recommend it as a fast read, with a few laughs.

Have you read this book? What were your thoughts on it?

