Tags

, , ,

I made it! I faced my “fear” of spinning and made it to my first class yesterday!

I’ve been trying to go for months but there was a learning curve in figuring out how the spin class process works at my gym. Apparently there’s a sign up sheet (which I missed previously), and it fills up 15 minutes before the class starts. Which for someone who is always late for every class at the gym, this was the biggest obstacle to overcome.

But yesterday I got there 30 minutes before class, and literally raced a woman to the sign up sheet to get the last bike. I felt bad for a bit, but I deserved it… and she got a bike waiting in the standby line. Spinning is intense, y’all. And that’s all before you even get on the bike!

Things I learned at spin class:

  • Get there early to adjust your bike. I understand why they have the sign up sheet. Not only is it super popular, but you have to get there early to make sure your bike is adjusted to make sure you can feel comfortable on it.
  • Dress to sweat. I wore long yoga pants that were luckily good sweat resistant material, but next time I’d prefer capris or shorts.
  • Bring water.
  • Bring a towel, you will sweat more than ever in your life
  • It is the most diverse class at the gym. Every age, gender, size, athletic abilities across the board. Anyone can do spinning, and have it work for them.
  • The music makes the class. If you have an instructor with bad music, try another one. It will make you work extra hard. You’ll be shocked how much your power increases when you hear “put your hand upon my hip, when I dip, you dip, we dip.”
  • Work hard. Even if your legs feel like they are going to fall off, it’s worth it because the class is only 45 minutes long. The endorphin high and jello legs are worth it. There were many times I felt like the guy in the cartoon above, but the class environment makes it impossible to stop and forces you to keep going (and race the person next to you). At the end it feels awesome that you did.
  • Try to follow along the instructors resistance gauge and RPM suggestions. At first I got there with the mentality that I would do it at my own speed, but the instructor’s suggestions weren’t that bad, and i found that when I followed them, I felt the burn.Β  So don’t plan on being lazy.
  • Make sure you don’t go spinning on an empty stomach! I felt light headed a lot and was so thankful I saved the second half of my lunch sandwich to eat before class. Otherwise I would have not made it.
  • It’s a full body workout. I thought it was just for legs, which is partly why I was never interested before. But I couldn’t have been more wrong. If anything it’s more of a booty workout. But my arms and back are probably more sore than my legs this morning. You don’t realize how much you need your core to bike!

I’ll definitely be back again and am so glad I finally gave it a try.

Do you take spinning classes? What is your best tip for beginners?

(photos via: 1 2)

