Tags

, , ,

It’s no surprise that I’m a sucker for beauty products. One of the benefits of blogging is that my “wasted money” on products that I don’t like isn’t a complete waste, because I can post about it and hopefully help anyone else on the market for a good product. 🙂

Since I wash my hair every other day, and have bangs, dry shampoo is a necessity to spruce up 2nd day hair. My hair is thick and frizzy, so my 2nd day hair is usually much smoother, but the first thing to get oily are my bangs. So, dry shampoo has helped me get through second day hair without rewashing my hair just for my bangs. I’ve tried so many different kinds, and wanted to share my thoughts on them.

Klorane Dry Shampoo with Oat Milk ($20 at Sephora)

This is the first dry shampoo I ever tried, and I love it!

Pros: Great smell, lasts all day, makes hair fuller and with more body as if you just finished blow drying clean hair. White powder brushes out of hair easily.

Cons: It runs out really fast! I’ve seen this comment on other reviews on Amazon and it seems to be a common problem. The contents escape faster from just sitting in your cabinet, even with the cap on. It will be full one day, and empty the next day. I had to return one bottle I once bought online because by the time it got to me the bottle was completely empty. Something must be up with its packaging and weaker use of aerosol. However, all the bottles I’ve bought from Sephora lasted me longer than those online, about 2 months. So don’t buy this online.

After using this brand only for a few years, I decided I should see if there are any products with better bang for my buck. Overall review: ★★★★ Still my favorite. Will buy again.

Psssssst Instant Dry Shampoo ($5 at any drugstore)

Unfortunately, this is the worst product I’ve tried. I don’t understand why reviews and magazines give it such rave reviews! Maybe it’s because I tried a pricier brand before trying this one or maybe because it’s different on different types of hair, but it did nothing for my hair except make it feel greasier.

I really wanted to like it because of the low price tag and because it’s sold everywhere, but it just did not work for me. The white powder was so thick and hard to brush out, it made me look like I had gray hair. I’m better off just washing my hair! Overall Review: ★ Hated it. Will never buy again.

Batiste Original ($7.99 & sold at Sally’s Beauty Supplies)

Pros: It made hair seem instantly fresher. The smell wasn’t annoying. The white was easily brushed out of hair.

Cons: I felt that it only freshened up my hair temporarily. My hair felt stickier a few hours after using it. Whereas, if I didn’t use it at all, my hair stayed fresher all day. Needless to say, I stopped using it, and only used it for “bang emergencies” until I used up the whole bottle. Overall Review: ★★ Middle of the road, decent product. But wouldn’t buy again.

TRESemme Dry Shampoo ($4.99 at Target)

This product has a ton of reviews around the internet, ranging from really hating, to really loving. I read a lot of them, but was never really interested because I’m not a big fan of TRESemme products. But when it was on sale and I had a coupon, I decided to buy it and test it out for myself.

Pros: Large bottle for the price. Definitely freshens hair and makes hair instantly fuller and contain more body. Eliminates signs of oily hair. White powder is barely visible and disappears instantly when brushed out. Note: You have to use very little of it and only “dust” it evenly over your hair! Otherwise we get to the cons…

Cons: When you spray too much it does in fact have a weird, sticky, hairspray feel to it.

Overall Review: ★★★ I’m quite pleased with this, but can definitely see how it can seem like a gross, cheap product when overused. Would buy again, in different type. I think for oily hair may suit me better than the dry hair version I purchased.

Although Klorane is still the best product quality-wise, TRESemme provides great value, and a good product for the price that lasts waaay longer.

Since purchasing the TREsemme, I’ve noticed that all the other drugstore brands (Dove, John Freida, etc) are coming out with dry shampoos. So there are many more for me to try still! From the pricier side, I still want to try Oscar Blandi’s dry shampoo. It was actually in many people’s November Birchboxes and I was quite jealous. 😉

Keep in mind that every product reacts differently on different types of hair, so although there may be many similarities, my experience may not always be your experience.

Please share, what dry shampoos have you tried? Which is your favorite?

