Tags

,

I absolutely loved this book. After finishing the Hunger Games Series I was so worried I wouldn’t find a book that’s a engaging and addicting for a while, but I was recommended Violets of March by Sarah Jio and it did not disappoint! I’m usually a slow reader, but I read this in 2 days on the Kindle!

With other books I’ve read, I often comment how the style of writing made the book awesome, not the story. In this book it was the opposite. The story was so enthralling. I couldn’t get away, wanting to know more.

It had me at hello. I loved the narrative and grew a liking to the main character immediately. Emily, is a one time best-selling author who is suffering from writer’s block and her husband just left her for another woman. Hoping to heal, she escapes to her great aunt’s home on Bainbridge Island near Seattle. On this beautiful island, Emily discovers an old diary containing a mystery that intertwines with her own life, which causes Emily to set out to put the pieces together and understand what it means. This journey leads her to learn more about herself, her family’s past, to love again, and ultimately learn the power of time and forgiveness.

I loved the story-within-a-story diary plot, it kept me engaged until the last sentence. I loved how both storyline’s came together unexpectedly. The ending was surprising, happy, thought provoking and fulfilling. I still left with a lot of questions, but I think that was the point, to realize that unexplainable things happen in life that aren’t truly clear until looking back. Hingsight is 20-20.

I tried thinking about what the main theme of the book was but I couldn’t pick just one. It made me think about a lot. Themes included:

  • fate
  • love
  • forgiveness
  • unexpected life changes
  • divorce
  • family history/mystery
  • understanding your roots
  • closure
  • finding yourself

My only complaint for this book is that at times there were situations in Emily’s storyline that were completely unrealistic and “chick-lit-y”, I don’t know if she was trying to emphasize the fate theme, but Emily’s story was predictable and it bugged me how she found two love interests instantly in one day, and some of the story lines there. Besides that, the diary storyline had many more twists and turns and had me sucked in completely.

I highly recommend it as a great book to share with your girlfriends.

Overall review: ★ ★ ★★★ (loved it)

Have you read this book? What are your thoughts?

