Tags

, , , , , , ,

This December is pretty unpredictable. One day it’s 60, the next day it’s 38 degrees. But I’m loving it. I can still wear my favorite boots, not always need a coat, and have yet to dig my car out of 3 feet of snow.

In addition to wearing cute boots, the second thing that comes to mind with cold days is soup. And not to brag or anything, but I think I’ve made the best soup ever.

It is delicious. It solves my problem of what to do with a big ‘ol bag of kale that I definitely won’t be eating raw (ewww). It combines my favorite Thai restaurant ingredients: coconut milk and ginger. The smell of it cooking is to die for. It also includes sweet potatoes, which put regular potatoes to shame in both health factors and taste. Did I mention it’s ridiculously healthy?? Boom.

Sweet Potato and Kale Soup

Recipe inspired by my Food and Wine magazine subscription gifted to me by my bff Jenny!

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped fine
  • 2 teaspoons fresh ginger, chopped fine
  • 3/4 teaspoon turmeric
  • 1/4 teaspoon crushed red peppers
  • 3/4 pound kale, tough stems removed  and roughly chopped
  • 3 sweet potatoes (yams), peeled and diced into 3/4-inch cubes
  • 1 1/2 quart chicken or vegetable broth
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • fresh ground pepper, to taste
  • 1 cup canned unsweetened coconut milk
  • 2 cups cooked brown rice

Directions:

In a large saucepan, heat the olive oil over medium heat.  Add the onions and cook down until tender and translucent, about five minutes.  Add the garlic, ginger, turmeric and crushed red pepper flakes.  Cook, stirring, for about 1 minutes.

Add the sweet potato chunks and stir. I added a potato too because I only had 2 sweet potatoes.

Add the chicken or vegetable broth and bring to a simmer.

Add the kale once the broth is simmering and submerge all of the leaves, helping them to cook down.

Cook for about 20 minutes, or until the sweet potatoes have become tender. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Lastly, stir in coconut milk, heat through.

Serve over a bed of brown rice.

Thanks to this recipe, my first time buying a bag of kale has been a success. I wasn’t a big fan of kale chips. Although they are fun and crispy, the lingering kale breath was kind of a turn off. However, kale in soup is a definite win, and will be purchased again.

Do you like kale? Are there any other kale recipes worth a try?

