Tags

, , , , , , ,

I was surprised to see that so many people commented that they also don’t like talking on the phone, when I posted my list of 25 things you don’t know about me.

Is it a generation thing? We grew up in the world of AIM and text messages, and therefore feel awkward when we are forced to talk on the phone?

I’m not even sure what generation I’m in. When I look it up I get these results: Generation Y, the Millenials, the Boomerangs, MTV Generation. I guess they are still figuring it out. Although, Boomerangs sounds fun. It’s not as easy as Baby Boomers was to name. We are called different things, however articles about “figuring us out” are endless.

When I was doing my MBA we read an article that was written for management about Generation Y (born 1977-1992) to help them be better managers to the new generation in the workplace. Here is a list of characteristics we discussed.

  • We have short attention spans, always looking for short cuts.
  • We are multitaskers
  • Move jobs fast
  • Need meaning in our jobs
  • Love our technology, social networking
  • Will text, IM, email before even thinking to walk over or telephone someone
  • Have a bigger emphasis on work-life balance than previous generations

My short attention span definitely translates in the kitchen. I always skip over recipes that seem too complex and look for the ones with less ingredients and less steps. My favorite recipe creations or discoveries are short cut versions of the real thing. That’s very Gen Y of me.

This recipe was created the way most of my recipe creations happen: “cleaning out the pantry.”

Ingredients (for 1 serving):

  • 1/2 cup cottage cheese
  • 1 avocado, chopped
  • 1/2 – 14 oz can of corn
  • 1 – 6 oz can of tuna
  • dill
  • salt, pepper, and any other spices you have on hand – to your preferred taste.

Directions: Mix everything you have in a bowl. Then, eat, enjoy, and feel really good about yourself for making a fast and healthy meal.

What do you find yourself doing that makes you stand out as typical Gen Y?

