Tags

, , , , , ,

For my birthday last month, one of my dearest friends, Sarah, got me this gift:

Just the bag is fabulous, right? I’m thinking about framing it in my currently bare-walled kitchen.

But, the items in the bag were just as fabulous.

These items are all of the ingredients from one of the recipes on my to do list!  These ingredients make up the no bake nut apricot fifteens from the blog: Healthful Pursuit. I thought this was the most creative, well thought out, foodie birthday present! She is the sweetest!

No Bake Nut Apricot Fifteens from Healthful Pursuit

They are called fifteens because they only take 15 minutes to make!

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup dried apricots
  • 3 prunes
  • 2 tbsp chia seed
  • 1/4 cup walnuts
  • 1/4 cup shredded coconut

Directions:

1. Combine all 5 ingredients in a food processor and pulse until apricots and prunes have broken down [about 1 minute].

Don’t mind the documented mess… I get a little messy when I’m in the kitchen, and coconut was everywhere!

2. Roll “dough” into balls and place on a clean surface.

3. Pop in the freezer for 4-5 minutes to harden up

Makes 6 dried fruit balls. Nutrition stats [1 ball]: calories 182; fat 9g; carbohydrates 26g; dietary fiber 9g; sugars 11g; protein 5g

Not only are these delicious, but they are incredibly nutritious too!

Let me break it down for you a little bit further (info from livestrong.com):

  • dried apricots: good source of calcium, iron, magnesium, phosphorus and potassium.
  • prunes: good source of vitamin A (in the form of beta-carotene), dietary fiber, potassium, and help with the absorption of iron into the body.
  • chia seeds: have been categorized as a “super food.” They are packed with essential vitamins, minerals, antioxidants and omega 3 fatty acids, offering a powerful nutritional boost in small, versatile package.
  • walnuts: full of omega 3 fatty acids, vitamin E, antioxidants, potassium, calcium, and magnesium
  • coconut: is a good source of iron, potassium, folic acid, and Vitamin C. 

No guilt here. These are a perfect  “post workout hungry, and need to snack while I’m making dinner” kind of food!

Thank you for the birthday gift, Sarah! I’m gonna take this to mean that you want me to live a long nutritious life! Or that I’m missing some nutrients in my diet 😉

What’s the most unique/creative birthday gift you’ve received?

