Tags

, , , , ,

I have baked cookies, cupcakes, granola bars, muffins, and various fruit breads a million times, but I’ve never ever made my own scones. Scones are just another variation of these things, right? They can be healthy, they can be dessert, they can be breakfast. And they are just as fun… so, there’s gotta be a first for everything!

Shanna and Jessica both have made scones in the last month and gave me the extra push I needed. This time I followed the recipe from Shanna based on the Chobani website’s scone recipe, but Jessica’s scones are on my list too.

Ingredients:

  • 2 C all-purpose flour, plus 1-2 tsp for flouring work surface
  • 1/4 C sugar plus 1 tablespoon for sprinkling on top
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 4 Tbsp unsalted cold butter, cut into 1/4-inch cubes
  • 1 C chopped strawberries
  • 3/4 C Vanilla Yogurt

Directions:

Preheat oven to 425˚F. Stir together flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and baking soda in a bowl. Add butter, using hands or fork, work until mixture resembles coarse crumbs.  Stir in strawberries, and then the yogurt to hold dough together. Do not overmix.

Next, you can use a scone pan or you can roll the dough into a 1.5 inch thick rectangle and cut the scones into squares.

OR you can be crazy creative, like me, and really want triangle wedges and place your dough into a round frying pant in order to create them. 

Isn’t it crazy how marketing has caused us to believe we need a separate pan for every type of dessert and separate tool for every kind of fruit and vegetable? Sure, I love my apple slicer and egg slicer and can’t imagine my life without them, but we need to draw the line somewhere… Currently, I need a popsicle mold way more than I will ever need a scone pan (as much as I may think I really want one). Priorities.

Finally, remove the wedges from the pan and arrange them on a parchment-paper-covered cookie sheet. Sprinkle each wedge with a little sugar. Bake until golden, about 12 to 15 minutes. Remove to wire rack to cool.

Stare admiringly at your perfect wedges and praise yourself for being so creative with your kitchen equipment, and lack of need for a scone pan. Enjoy with coffee.

Looking to bake with strawberries? Here are some of my past strawberry recipe posts:

Do you ever get creative with your current kitchen equipment? Do you have any of unnecessary kitchen tools that were just too fun to pass up?

