Tags

, , , , , , ,

Chips and salsa are definitely, hands down, my favorite food.

I could eat them everyday.

At a barbecue on the 4th of July, my friend Laura introduced me to this new salsa for me to be addicted to.

It worked. She succeeded.

It’s got all of my favorite ingredients in one.

Whenever I’m at a restaurant and I see the word “avocado” or “guacamole”  or “mango” in a dish, I’m sold.

Or coconut… yum. But there’s no coconut here. Not in this version at least…

This dish brings my top two flavors together, and is a delicious summery twist on my classic favorite, salsa.

Best part: it’s super easy.

Mango-Avocado Salsa

Ingredients:

  • 1 mango, peeled and diced
  • 1 avocado, peeled and diced
  • 1 onion,  diced
  • 2 tomatoes, diced
  • 1 lime, juiced
  • 2T cilantro

Directions:

  1. Mix all of the ingredients into small, bite sized pieces and mix them together
  2. Eat with tortilla chips to your heart’s content
I used this in place of fresh cilantro, and it was great. Of course, there is nothing better than fresh herbs, but this is a great option to have if you know you won’t use up a whole bundle of fresh cilantro. The price is the same as one fresh bunch, but it stores longer.
We ate this salsa while we watched the women’s world cup final soccer game.
 
It was a good game, but ended sadly on penalty kicks, which was really unfortunate because the U.S. team played so well.
 
Abby Wambach went to my all girl high school in Rochester, NY.
 
I was in 8th grade when she was a senior, and she was already a local celebrity then.
 
She and her friends sat at the lunch table next to me and my friends, and we dared one friend to get Abby to sign her yearbook.
 
We thought it was hilarious at the time, but she did it! Look who’s laughing now. She’s got Abby’s autograph in her 8th grade yearbook.
 
Her crazy headers and amazing performance during the women’s world cup brought a ton of pride to Rochester, NY.
 
She’ll get the U.S. to that world cup trophy next time.
 
Did you watch the World Cup?
