Tags

, , , ,

Did you know avocado is one of the top 100 most commonly misspelled words in the english language?

It seems like there are more than 100 more commonly used words than avocado, so it seems rather high on that list. But regardless, everyone wants to spell it avacado, like it sounds.

I only know this because I had to look it up, so I wouldn’t misspell it. So I am now part of that statistic. Helping it move up the top 100 list.

You’re welcome.

Do you know what the #1 most misspelled word is?

Definitely.

Definitely agree. That’s probably my most spell-check corrected work on this blog. Not that I don’t know how to spell it. Just when my fingers are typing fast, the ‘i’s and ‘e’s just go in the wrong spots.

Now I love avocados in my sandwiches or as guacamole with tortilla chips. But it never occurred to me to put them in a smoothie! I saw the idea on Pinterest, of course, and decided to try it for myself.

Ingredients:

  • 1 whole small avocado
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • honey, to taste (~2T)
  • 1t chia seeds
  • 1c almond (or regular) milk
  • 1c ice

Directions:

Throw everything in the blender, and blend until smooth and creamy. My blender kind of got stuck because it was so thick and creamy, but instead of watering it down with milk I poured it in a bowl and ate it like creamy avocado ice cream.

It barely tastes like avocado. The banana and honey have a more prominent taste. The avocado provides a creamy texture, and some wonderful nutritious benefits.

Avocados play a major role in cardiovascular health. They provide nearly 20 essential nutrients, including fiber, potassium, Vitamin E, B-vitamins and folic acid. They also act as a “nutrient booster” by enabling the body to absorb more fat-soluble nutrients, such as alpha and beta-carotene and lutein, in foods that are eaten with the fruit.

I’m just full of trivia facts today.

Have you ever had an avocado smoothie?

