Tags

,

“What she had realized was that love was that moment when your heart was about to burst” ~ Steig Larsson via The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

I just finished The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.

It was a good book, but I didn’t think it was as great as the buzz around it.

It took me a long time to get into, but I got through it by listening to the audio book at the gym and while driving.

I’d say that the first 75% is dragged out with nothing fitting together and a ton of Swedish names and background stories.

I went in and out of being pulled into the story line because there were so many of them.

I did like the character of the girl with the dragon tattoo, Lisbeth Salander. Very unique, mysterious, troubled, and brilliant.

Once you get through the first 3 parts, the book gets much better, and I really liked the last 25% of the book. The story took an unexpected twist, and all the storylines from the beginning were brought back and revisited.

Maybe I’m extra critical because the last book I read was The Help and it was utterly amazing and incomparable. The Help is a “drop everything and go read it NOW” kind of book because you will be sucked in, laugh a lot, and read it in 2 days. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo is a more of a “good read if you have the time and enjoy mysteries about disturbing topics” kind of book. So, that’s my book review scale…

The topic was kind of twisted and disturbing, but I think I might try to find the Swedish movie version on Netflix to watch this weekend. The American movie comes out in December.

My Girl with the Dragon Tattoo Review: ★★★ (liked)

Have you read this? What did you think?

