Tags

, , , ,

Nothing screams summer like corn on the cob.

Except maybe flip-flops, sunshine, barbecues, sun dresses, hot dogs, lemonade, and the smell of fresh mowed grass.

But corn on the cob is definitely up there.

Sweet corn is a recent discovery for me. Not that I never had it before. I definitely did, but in the last two years I have grown to really appreciate it. In the summer months it is so cheap, simple, filling, sweet and utterly delicious.

{Yes, this post is really about corn. If corn is not as exciting to you as it is for me, stop reading here, and come back tomorrow for something hopefully more interesting.}

So, as I walked into the grocery store and my eyes adjusted from the amazingly blinding weekend sunshine, my eyes instantly fell on a sign next to a pile of corn marking them 5 for $2.

In case the suddenly stronger burning rays of the sun weren’t enough, the corn on sale officially marked the start of summer!

We don’t have a grill (yet), so I was determined to find a way to still make the best of the fresh sweet corn.

There really is no true recipe, I’ve read a bunch and it really all depends what you have on hand, and if you have a grill. But if you don’t, you can boil it or bake it, just please don’t microwave it. Unless you really enjoy gummy corn that resembles the taste of rubber, then go ahead. But I just believe that the microwave removes the summery crispness right out of it. And that’s just wrong.

Here is how I prepared my first sweet corn of the season.

  • Fill your pot with water.
  • Add salt, pepper, and any other miscellaneous spice mixes you may have on hand (paprika, cajun, garlic, cumin, oregano, basil, cayenne, etc.)
  • Add 1 T of sugar.
  • Remove the husk and silk from the corn
  • Drop in your corn.
  • Bring everything to a boil.
  • Boil for no longer than 8 minutes.
  • Remove from the water and let it cool enough for handling and eating.
  • Dress in salt, pepper, parmesan cheese, and butter, as desired.
  • Enjoy

I served it with chicken that I cooked in a crockpot with italian dressing, and a side salad.

Now excuse me, as I must go floss, so that my dentist doesn’t find corn in my teeth at my cleaning next week.

What do you love best about summer? How do you prepare corn?

