Tags

, , , , , , ,

Today is Easter Monday, or as the Polish call it: Smingus Dyngus (Dyngus Day). A Polish holiday where people splash each other with water. I never really understood it and never really enjoyed it. My mom would always wake us up by spraying water on us with a water gun, some sort of water squirt toy, or just a plain glass of water… which clearly was more fun for her than for us!

Wikipedia’s definition for Dyngus Day is pretty funny:

In Poland, Hungary, Slovakia, and the Czech Republic traditionally, early in the morning boys awake girls by pouring a bucket of water on their head and striking them about the legs with long thin twigs or switches made from willow, birch or decorated tree branches; however, the earliest documentedrecords of Dyngus Day in Poland are from the 15th century, almost half a millennium after Poland adopted Christianity.

Thank goodness my mom never got into the twig part of it 😉 Gotta love Polish traditions, it just sounds so absurd! Their roots are always so bizzare, but centuries later people are still doing it and not always sure why. The most common joke in Poland is that this is the only holiday that men remember ahead of time and are prepared for.

I had a lovely Easter weekend. It was just what I needed. Thank you everyone for the encouraging comments from my bad day post, they all made me smile!

I have some photos and recipes to share from the weekend, but I haven’t had a chance to post those yet since I came home late last night. So for now I wanted to share some of my favorite links I have come across and am loving from the past week:

♥ Lauren Conrad has a blog! I love her style and clothing line (and drama filled shows), so I was excited to see she had a blog as well. Seems like celebrities are also loving the blog craze (Gwyneth Paltrow, Jay-Z). Lauren’s blog has some great style, design, beauty tips, and recipes! I especially loved this recipe for Sweet Peep Sushi. It looks like sushi but it’s made of rice crispies and peeps. Ah-mazing.

Royal Wedding: Is anyone else excited for the royal wedding this week? I have dreaded the extreme amounts of media coverage over the last 6 months (who cares what their top 3 wedding invite options are?), and did you know the royal wedding has a twitter account??

But this week I am taking it all in and loving it. I can’t wait to see her dress, and the hats, and to find out if it will be rained out (hope not) or if Beyonce and Jay-Z are really performing at it or not (sounds random). I love this blog’s coverage of the wedding. It has some insight to her dress and the guest list: the Beckham’s and Mr. Bean? I love Mr. Bean, but he seems oddly out of place there. I have Friday off so I am excited to DVR all the specials going on this week and of course the wedding, and have a truly girly day off.

Fashion: I just discovered J’s everyday fashion. It’s a blog where J uses inspiration from magazines, runways, celebrities and recreates outfits from regular, affordable stores that are accessible to everyone. Her style of writing is fun and she really gets creative recreating every detail of the images she chooses to recreate. We all do it, only she does it literally piece by piece and her results are amazing!

Happy Monday!

