Tags

, , , , , ,

via: weheartit.com

I am not a morning person. In fact, the hardest part of my day is forcing myself to get out of bed.

Once I’m up, I’m fine; but getting there is not easy. Looking forward to breakfast is a good way to get myself out of bed. Breakfast is my absolute favorite meal of the day. I can’t start my day without it. Without breakfast I’m a monster (sorry AK). So, one of my motivations to get me out of bed is looking forward to breakfast. During the week it’s usually cereal, sometimes it’s a bagel, and now I have discovered overnight oats. I know that to the blog world this is old news. But to me, this is new and exciting, and I’m sure some of my non-foodie non-bloggers out there may enjoy learning about this. I mentioned my discovery of them in this post, but I have now tried making them myself and am excited to share.

before placing in fridge

Overnight oats are just regular rolling oats soaked in any kind of liquid you choose overnight. The basic recipe involves equal portions of rolled oats, milk, yogurt, and then any kind of topics you choose (i.e. nuts, raisins, chocolate chips, fruit, and any other trailmix items that won’t get soggy overnight)! You then cover them, store them in your fridge overnight, and in the morning you have a delicious breakfast waiting for you!

Here is the combination I tried (and loved!).

Overnight Oats

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup vanilla yogurt (best with Greek yogurt ♥Chobani♥)
  • 1/2 milk
  • half a banana
  • 2 strawberries, diced
  • sunflower seeds
  • coconut flakes
  • sliced almonds

Directions:

  1. Mix the ingredients
  2. Cover
  3. Place in fridge overnight (or at least 4 hours)
  4. Wake up and enjoy! If it’s too cold pop it into the microwave to warm it up for 30 seconds before eating.

oats in the morning

I really want to try it with coconut milk or chia seeds. I’ve never tried chia seeds but they have such great health benefits, and a lot of food bloggers put it in everything, so I am curious to give them a try.

Once I’m up in the morning, it takes me a while to feel normal, which causes me to dilly dally (as AK calls it) for way too long and get to work later than I really should. I’m just slower in the morning, and like to take my time getting dressed and ready. I like to start the day off right with a good meal, a warm beverage, and some good blogs. It adds 30 more minutes to my morning, and since my work commute isn’t as far anymore, I have enjoyed having that morning time to myself.

But I should start getting to work before 9:00. 9 o’clock isn’t late at my office, it’s right on time, and even early compared to most due to traffic, but I want to start getting there earlier, 8:30 is my goal.

via: weheartit.com

In order to truly enjoy that morning breakfast & blog time without getting to work at an unacceptable hour these are the things I need to do the night before:

  1. Pick an outift and iron. This takes up the most of my morning and could seriously be avoided. I just never know what I want to wear and end up wearing the same rotation on repeat. Boring. This needs to change.
  2. Wash my hair at night. I’ve been doing this a lot lately. As long as my hair dries completely before bed, it is manageable in the morning. Sleeping on it helps lessen the frizz too.
  3. Make lunches for work. Thanks to AK, we have been really good about doing this. I get lazy in the evenings and loose all motivation for morning prep, but he has been good making sure we make lunches for the next day.
  4. Prepare breakfast. Making overnight oats in a tupperware container allowed me to just grab them on my way out the door and have my breakfast & blog time at work. Not as fun… but it got me into work earlier!

The first one is the biggest obstacle right now. Planning outfits will help me get out of my outfit rut and also save me time in the morning. Now that it’s warmer it might be easier, since in the winter you never know what kind of mood I’ll be in when I wake up (skirt day vs. turtleneck sweater comfy day), so those wintery blaahs can’t be accurately predicted… less layers means quicker getting ready, right? 🙂

How do you manage your morning routine? Do you rush or take your time? Any other tips?

