Tags

, , , ,

“A house is made of walls and beams; a home is built with love and dreams.”

I love our new home. I love it because it’s ours. I love it because there are no other roommates or landlords and we can do whatever we want, when we want, and therefore it is always clean. I love that it’s a new, fresh start. A new canvas to decorate and home-ify to fit our needs and wants. We waited so long to move in that the minute we got the keys, we started full force. We bought and set almost everything up within a 2 week period. It was already painted, so we didn’t do any of that. The colors are nice, warm, and inviting. We might change them eventually, but for now it was perfectly move in ready.

In the last month we have slowed down with the decorating. Needed to take a breath from all the sudden spending. We have all the basics, but it still needs some personality. There are still a lot of empty spaces on the walls, and corners that could use some color or decor, but that will come in time. I need to feel inspired.

The one large piece of artwork already on our living room wall is my favorite. The second I saw it (on Overstock.com), I loved it, and knew it was just what we needed to pull all the colors of the room together. I don’t want to just throw anything up on the walls. There’s a lot of “yeah I could live with it” pretty artwork out there, but I want to love it. I have to look at it everyday; so I want it to make me happy every time I see it. Still waiting on that love at first sight decor spotting. Our kitchen, hallway, and guest bedroom,  have a lot of empty wall space. I am on the hunt, always looking around, and still waiting to get inspired.

Here is our little cozy dining room. Right now serving as my blogging desk. Our windows all look out to a conservation area, so even though we live just outside the city, it’s nice to have a little piece of nature and quiet when we are home.

My sunny, cozy kitchen. It’s always so bright with 5 windows. We plan to update the granite and appliances to spruce it up a bit. And yes, my 5’3.5″ self needs a children’s step stool to reach the high shelves in the cabinets!

Master bedroom.

The best part about this place is the ridiculous amount of closet space in all the rooms. I have never had so much space for all my clothes and shoes to breathe and sprawl out so nicely.

We loved these curtains so much we had them written into the contract with the sale of the place.

View from the master bedroom. I love the high ceilings.

This is the loft. It serves as the office/laundry room/family room/basement (even tho it’s upstairs, it has a huge storage closet).

The bathroom, closet, and laundry room are in the area behind where I am standing taking this picture.

View from the loft, down.

We also have a sizeable balcony. It is covered so it is perfect to eat outside during the warm summer months, rain or shine. It still needs some love. So far I only found a table. Chairs and other fun summer decor coming soon. The guest bedroom, blank walls in the kitchen and hallway, and balcony still need some work. I still need to find some ideas and/or good deals on some inspirations I have found. Once we finish those projects I will post more pictures of  the before and after of some of the areas that I didn’t take pictures of for this installment.

In the meantime, does anyone know any good stores, websites, blogs for good home decor inspiration or nice affordable finds? Please share!

