Tags

, , , , ,

“Stressed spelled backwards is desserts.  Coincidence?  I think not.”  ~Author Unknown

AK doesn’t really like dessert. Which makes it hard for someone that loves to bake because if I bake, I’m the only one eating it. Not as fun. But occassionally he’ll want ice cream or cheesecake, which is exciting because then I get to eat ice cream or cheesecake with him. Ever since Valentine’s day he’s been referring to a certain marble cheesecake that he forgot to buy when he went to the store to buy the ingredients for our lovely valentine’s day steak dinner. When we pass it in the store he always walks over to it, and tells me again how badly he wanted that to be our Valentine’s day treat. The other day when we were at the grocery he said, “If you want to bake something I like, why don’t you bake cheesecake?” What a perfect idea! So I did.

Of course I made a smaller portion and probably about 80% less fat and calories than the store bought version, but it was delicious and successfully filled the marble cheesecake void! I’ve been taking a piece with me to work everyday for lunch this week, and so far it’s been the highlight of every day. My three minute cheesecake break where I am stressfree and happy!

Marble Cheesecake Bars

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups finely crushed creme-filled chocolate sandwich cookies
  • 3 tablespoons butter or margarine, melted
  • 3 (8 ounce) packages cream cheese (low fat), softened
  • 1 (14 ounce) can sweetened condensed milk
  • 3 large eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 (1 ounce) squares unsweetened chocolate, melted

Directions:

  1. Heat oven to 300 degrees F. In medium bowl, combine cookie crumbs and butter; press firmly on bottom of 13×9-inch baking pan.
  2. In large bowl, beat cream cheese until fluffy. Gradually beat in sweetened condensed milk until smooth. Add eggs and vanilla; mix well. Pour half the batter evenly over prepared crust.
  3. Stir melted chocolate into remaining batter; spoon over vanilla batter. With a table knife, gently swirl through batter to marble.
  4. Bake 40 to 50 minutes or until set. Cool. Chill. Cut into bars. Store leftovers covered in refrigerator.

before swirling: it all sunk in the middle

after swirling: beautiful marble!

Recipe: source

