Tags

, , , , ,

“Weekends are a bit like rainbows; they look good from a distance but disappear when you get up close to them.”  ~John Shirley

This weekend was so nice and relaxing. It was our first weekend at the new place that didn’t involve unpacking, setting up, or visitors. As fun as we had all the past weekends with visitors, it was really nice to lay around doing nothing for a weekend. Between March Madness and about 17 episodes of “Weeds” we got a lot of laziness out of our system.

After laying around all Saturday, I decided Sunday needs to be a cooking day. AK’s wisdom teeth diet of applesauce, yogurt, and mashed potatoes is getting old fast. I’ve been basically on the soft food diet with him because I feel bad eating real food in front of him. So, I thought meatloaf might be a good soft food to get him/us off of the all liquid and vegetarian diet.

I’ve never made meatloaf before, and I can not remember the last time I ate it. Probably in a college dining hall at our traditional roommate Sunday dinner gatherings. So probably at least 8 years, wow.

I never realized how many ways there are to make meatloaf. Basically anything goes. If you have the basic three ingredients of meat, eggs, and some form of bread, you can mix in anything else (other meats, vegetables, spices) you have in your kitchen. I came across so many different recipes! Some were more complex than others. I tend to sway more towards the fast and easy options because my motivation in the kitchen starts really, really high, and quickly plummets with increased frustration if I try too complex of a recipe. So, this easy meatloaf recipe from allrecipes.com caught my attention, first with the title, and then with the fact that I already had all the ingredients at home. That’s my kind of recipe.

Easy Meatloaf

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 pounds ground beef
  • 1 egg
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 cup dried bread crumbs
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 4 tablespoons prepared mustard
  • 2/3 cup ketchup

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  2. In a large bowl, combine the beef, egg, onion, milk and bread OR cracker crumbs. Season with salt and pepper to taste and place in a lightly greased 5×9 inch loaf pan, OR form into a loaf and place in a lightly greased 9×13 inch baking dish.
  3. In a separate small bowl, combine the brown sugar, mustard and ketchup. Mix well and pour over the meatloaf.
  4. Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 1 hour and 20 minutes.


Note: Make sure to put the baking dish on a cookie sheet because the meatloaf bubbles so much during baking that some of it overflowed in the oven.

Makes 8 servings

Nutrition Per Serving: Calories: 372 | Total Fat: 24.7g | Cholesterol: 101mg

It came out really good! It was very moist and flavorful plus quick and easy to make; I will definitely be making this again.

I also made some cheesecake bars. So that post will be coming soon. Gotta watch Real Housewives of O.C. first. Another guilty pleasure… I know it’s such a bad show, but I just can’t stop. I’m fascinated with their lives, and tons of terrible plastic surgery, that they seem to think is completely normal.

