Tags

, , , , , ,

“We do have a zeal for laughter in most situations, give or take a dentist.” ~Joseph Heller

Happy St. Patrick’s Day! No cabagge or cornbeef here in this household today, I’m making squash soup. I thought of making it because AK got his wisdom teeth out today and can’t eat solid foods, although the chances of him actually eating this soup are very slim. But I made it anyways because I was craving it and it served as my dinner while he feasted on mashed potatoes and gravy.

I love squash soup and it is so easy to make once you overcome the huge hurdle of peeling and cubing the butternut squash. I didn’t want to be a cop out and buy the pre-cubed squash, so I went with the real thing. But I have to admit I am always a bit frightened at the thought of having to deal with the cutting and peeling of it. It’s just intimidating. It looks like it involves massive amounts of work, with the possible risk of losing a finger. So, today’s goal was to face this fear, learn how to do it, and find it to be a simple task I can do over and over again. I’m sure it can’t be that bad right?

….eh… Still not my favorite task… On a difficulty scale of 1 to 10, where 1 is using my small plastic peeler to peel a carrot and 10 being using my peeler to peel bark off a tree, it was about a 7. I think my peeler deserves most of the blame, I should of used a knife since the skin is so tough. But I was worried about losing a finger, and the fact that AK wouldn’t be able to drive me to the emergency room because he’s on too many post-surgery pain killers. So peeler it was.

Thanks to some “how to peel a squash” googling and combining advice for a bunch of different websites this is what I ended up doing:

  • I washed my butternut squash and pierced the skin in a few places
  • Put it in the microwave for 3-4 minutes to soften the skin.
  • Next, I cut off the top and bottom, set it upright on a cutting board and peeled it with a peeler

15 minutes, and six “this sucks” later, I finally finished the task:

Roasted Butternut Squash Soup

Ingredients:

  • 1 large butternut squash, peeled and cubed
  • 2 T olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 2.5 cups vegetable broth

Directions:

  1. Peel and cube squash then place on a baking sheet and toss with olive oil, salt and pepper.  Bake 50 minutes or until soft.
  2. Add roasted squash to a pot with vegetable broth into a blender to puree the soup.
  3. Adjust seasonings to taste.

I can’t believe how creamy and flavorful it is with only a few simple ingredients, no cream or butter necessary! Both the inspiration and recipe came from this blog. I also poured it over couscous as suggested in the recipe, and it’s such a great combo!

How do you peel butternut squash? Any other tips or advice?

