Tags

, , , , , ,

“Food is our common ground, a universal experience.”  ~James Beard

Mexican is one of my favorite culinary treats. It’s usually simple to make. It’s also deliciously vibrant, colorful, and mixed with some spicy heat and creamy flavors. It’s a good mixture of fresh herbs, meats and vegtables making it seem like a healthy option, if done right of course.

When I lived in upstate NY, I would love cooking with my friend Erika. Going to her place for dinner always guaranteed a delicious homecooked meal (and a nice change from my  typical cereal dinners), while also teaching me some tips on how to cook, specifically Mexican dishes. She taught me how to make enchiladas, guacamole, and introduced me to the concept of a Mexican lasagna! It’s a genious idea because it combines all the necessary flavors without the “build your own” mess of tacos.

 

Today’s version of this recipe didn’t come out as good as last time… I forgot to put cheese on the first layer, so it didn’t stick together as well when served. Also, I didn’t have 6 tortillas, only 4, so instead of getting crispy, they were a little soggy. Minor details, but they make a difference in the texture and presentation. So keep that in mind and learn from my mistakes…

Mexican Lasagna

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound lean ground beef
  • 1 (1 ounce) package taco seasoning mix
  • 1 (14 ounce) can peeled and diced tomatoes with juice
  • 1 (14 ounce) can sweet corn
  • 6 (6 inch) corn tortillas
  • 1 cup prepared salsa
  • 1/2 cup shredded Colby cheese

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  2. In a large skillet over medium-high heat, brown the ground beef, and stir in the taco seasoning and tomatoes. Line a 9×13-inch baking dish with half the tortillas. Spoon the beef mixture into the dish and top with corn. Next add a layer of the remaining tortillas and add another layer of beef and corn. Finally, sprinkle the top with the salsa and then cheese.
  3. Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 20 to 30 minutes, or until cheese is melted and bubbly.
  4. Serve with sour cream, salsa, and guacamole 🙂

I still think baking is way more fun than cooking. It’s more photogenic as well. All my dinners end up looking like a form of slop. I guess it’s something I need to work on… finding recipes that don’t look like slop. Even if only photo purposes.

