Tags

, , , , ,

As much as I love food, I also have a lofty appetite for all things fashion and shopping. It’s 55 degrees outside today and it definitely feels like spring is in the air. Even though it’s Fall 2011 fashion week in NYC this week, the spring 2011 trends are starting to show up in stores and magazines and catch my eye. I recently discovered a fun website called Polyvore where you can create your own looks based on collections in all brands ranging from Gap, H&M, any shopping website you can think of, to Marc Jacobs and L0uis Vuitton. You can mix and match pieces by browsing by catagory to create your own outfits using the current trends. Discovering this website, easily turned into an activity for my entire Sunday afternoon, but it was fun prep for the spring weather ahead (it’s supposed to be in the 60s this week!) and tonight’s Grammys.

Here are some of my favorite personal picks of outfits that I put together using the Spring 2011 collections:

For a summer day out and about in the city:

blouse- H&M

shorts – H&M

wrap sweater – Alice and Olivia

flats – Kate Spade

bag – Hermes

necklace – ice.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

for a night out:

jeans – piperlime Gap

top – H&M

sweater – topshop.com

shoes – topshop.com

bag – Marc by Marc Jacobs

bangles – H&M

earrings – net-a-porter.com

 

 

 

 

 

I have bunch of weddings coming up this summer, so I played around with different styles of dresses. Here are a few wedding looks:

dress – M-butterfly

shoes – loeffler and all

clutch – mirabella

necklace – net-a-porter.com

dress – warehouse

shoes – valentino

belt – Forever 21

bag – marc by marc jacobs

earrings – boutiquetoyou.com

bracelet – intermix
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

I love anything girly that includes bows, ruffles, and lace. Maybe not all at once, but that is a trend that I am still not over and glad to see everywhere. But from my hours of browsing it seems like bright colors, stripes, even more florals, animal print (specifically snakeskin patterns this year), thicker heels, and envelope bags are some trends that have crept in this season. Lot of 70s style hippy inspirations.

Please comment and share if you have ever used this website or have been sucked in by it like I have been today!

