Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

“The only thing I like better than talking about food is eating. ” ~John Walters

AK makes fun of me because I go to the grocery store almost every day. I’ll admit, it’s a little excessive, something I need to work on, but it doesn’t help that we moved almost directly next door to one. I always have the basics to start a recipe from when we do our bulk grocery shopping, but when I find a recipe I want to make I’m always missing the additional flavors, spices or ingredients needed to make it properly! So, I was back at the grocery store today, going for one thing (tortilla wraps for the fajitas) and that quickly turned into 20 things – because brightly labeled sale items always inspire me to think of other recipes I want to make. In today’s case I noticed that fresh strawberries were on sale! I stick to the rule of only buying fruits and vegetables that are on sale. And in the sad, grey month of February I definitely can’t say no to strawberries! Strawberries on sale can mean two things. Either they were imported from somewhere where they are now in season, or that they are plumped up with steroids and chemicals just in time for couples to dip them into chocolate on Valentine’s day… I like to think it’s the former.  These were big, juicy, and bright red.  Not the usual pinkish-brown winter strawberries. I could smell them the second I walked in – it was fate. So, I instantly thought they’d be perfect for this recipe!  This is my favorite cake that my Mama makes. It’s very light and summer-y and can be used with any kind of fruit that is in season or even canned. I asked my Mama for this recipe a few years ago, but I’ve never tried to make it on my own until today…

Strawberry Jello Sponge Cake

(or in Polish: Mamusi Owocowy Biszkopt)

Ingredients:

  • 3 eggs (separate the yolk from the whites)
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 t baking powder
  • 4 T of lemon juice
  • 1/2 block of cream cheese
  • 1 8oz container of whipped topping
  • 2T sugar
  • 1- 2lb container of strawberries, sliced (can be fresh strawberries, blueberries or even canned mandarins work well)
  • 2 – 3 oz packets of jello (match the flavor to the fruit)
  • 2 cups boiling water
  • 1 cup of ice

Directions:

for cake:

  1. Separate the yolks from the whites of all 3 eggs. Beat the yolks with the sugar, until the texture turns stiff and foamy, so that the bowl can be flipped upside-down and not drip. (This took me a while with a hand mixer, but it eventually worked!)
  2. Slowly add yolks and mix them in (do not beat). Mix in flour and baking powder to the egg mixture. 
  3. Pour into a 9×13″ pan and bake at 350 degrees F for 30 minutes.
  4. Once cooled, soak the cake with lemon juice to moisten.

top layers:

  1. Mix cream cheese, whipped topping, and 2T of sugar. Cut up strawberries to mix into the cream layer (this is optional, but I think the more strawberries, the better). Then, spread the creamy mixture over the cake.
  2. Make the jello as instructed on the package, but decrease the amount of water added, since there will be ice added to speed up the hardening of the jello. So, for two packets it would be: 2 cups boiling water. Then once stirred completely add one cup of ice. Stir until jello-o starts to get lumpy and harden.
  3. While you wait for the jello to firm, slice up the strawberries and place them over the cream layer. Finally, pour the hardened (tho not all the way!) jello mixture over the strawberries. Store in the fridge for the jello to finish hardening all the way… and enjoy, Smacznego!

This was my first time making this recipe, based on notes from a scribbled piece of notebook paper and I must say I’m pretty proud of myself with the results. Yummy.

