Tags

, , , , , , , ,

“Cooking is like love, it should be entered into with abandon or not at all” ~Harriet van Horne

Living with someone is more of an adjustment than I thought. Not in a bad way; it’s fun always having your best friend around, and helpful doing things as a team. I’m just learning more about myself, and realizing that I can’t be as selfish as I have been the last few years. If I came home from work and didn’t feel like cooking, I wouldn’t. If I was too tired to make lunch for the next day before bed, I wouldn’t. I never had to think about anyone else, and never realized how much work it is to always make sure there is something for dinner and then for lunches the next day. Makes me appreciate my Mama even more than ever because she is always cooking something, and worrying about us being hungry. It’s a lot of work! It’s probably more for me because it takes me more time and effort than the average person who can whip something good up in no time… but I will get there. Lucky for me, I have an amazing bf who helps a lot by making dinner a few nights a week, helping wash dishes, and sharing lunch making duties (thank youuu).

Today is my turn to make dinner so based on what we had in the freezer, and my anxiety to try more crock pot recipes, I found a fajita recipe on http://www.TLC.com, (yeah who knew, it’s more than the “learning” channel about people that have way too many babies, they have a website with recipes too!) that I adapted based on what ingredients we had.

Ingredients:

1 beef flank steak (about 1 pound)
1 medium onion, cut into strips
1/2 cup medium salsa
2 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro
2 tablespoons fresh lime juice
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 tablespoon chili powder
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 small green bell pepper, cut into strips
1 small red bell pepper, cut into strips
Flour tortillas, warmed
Additional salsa

Directions:

  1. Cut flank steak lengthwise in half, then crosswise into thin strips; place meat in slow cooker. Combine onion, 1/2 cup salsa, cilantro, lime juice, garlic, chili powder, cumin and salt in slow cooker. Cover; cook on LOW 5 to 6 hours.
  2. Add bell peppers. Cover; cook on LOW 1 hour.
  3. Serve with flour tortillas and additional salsa.

