Tags

,

Wow, The Life of CeeCee Wilkes was intense. My Goodreads reading goal for 2012 was 12 books, and so far I am flying through so many really great books. I don’t think I’ve read this much since middle school!

If you are looking for a relaxing read, this is not it. If you are looking for a very quick, incredibly enthralling read, this is a great story.

It has me up at night waaaaay past my bedtime because I could not put it down. It was a different kind of “can’t put down” than my recent reads of “Divergent” or “Hunger Games.” This was more of a mystery thriller, with many twists and turns that left me with no idea how it would unfold.

The main theme of this book was: “you can never truly escape your past.”

After losing her mother at a young age, 16 year old CeeCee is already very much an adult in her lifestyle, but still very much naive and childish. She longs to feel loved and quickly falls very hard for Tim, a college boy who frequents the restaurant where she works as a waitress. CeeCee’s relationship with Tim escalates quickly and she trusts him completely and will do anything for him.

Tim convinces CeeCee to take part in a kidnapping that he says will help save his sister who is unjustly on death row. The kidnapping changes her life forever, forcing her to assume a new identity and leave everything she knows. She spends the rest of her life living with the consequences and dealing with the results of Tim’s lies and deception. She manages to start her life over until 20 years later a body is found and Tim is now facing the death penalty. Only CeeCee knows what really happened. She has another huge choice to make: Tell the truth and destroy her family. Or let an innocent man die in order to protect a lifetime of lies.

I couldn’t help and get frustrated at times with the characters and feeling that the plot was unrealistic at times. First at Tim, CeeCee’s naivety, and then later I’d get frustrated with Cory. But if you are able to get past that, and take it as the work of fiction that it is, the story is intense and very emotionally involving. I would be up late at night reading and worrying impatiently for her past to come back and ruin her new life. But I have to say I was really pleased with how the author tied everything up at the end and left no questions unanswered.

The Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes Review: ★★★★ (really liked)

Have you read the Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes? What are your thoughts?

